Skip to content

Crash!

July 26, 2009
Photo 23

This is pretty deep. Maybe 3/8"

Well, I crashed my bike yesterday.  I was drafting a friend, didn’t see a pothole, hit the pothole, and pulled a Jens Voigt, my hands shooting straight off the bars and my body following them to the pavement.  I slid to a stop on my left shoulder, got up, knowing that I had crashed seriously, and found blood dripping all over my left hand and forearm.

It must have been bad because when my friend – professional photographer and amateur road cyclist Aaron Hegert –  made it back to me, he took one look at my elbow and said,

“Oh man, you’re gonna need stitches for sure. Don’t look at it.”

I took my shoe off and used my sock to stop the bleeding and sat there rolled up in a ball of pain waiting for Aaron to come back with the car (we were probably a mile from the end of our ride..).  I couldn’t see very well or do much other than sit there in a ball, grit my teeth, and be bummed out about how my left arm wasn’t really working and how I didn’t have any health insurance.

But it wasn’t so bad.  A kind lady stopped, then a gentleman with a first aid kit.  They gave me a Tylenol and taped a bandage too-tightly around my elbow.  Then a sheriff showed up and called the paramedics and we all had to sit around awhile while they checked my blood pressure and heart rate and made me sign a “refusal of transport.”

The paramedics also told me to get stitches in my elbow immediately.

I was really starting to feel like a human being again as Aaron and I were finally allowed to drive away.  Unlike Jens Voigt, I probably hadn’t broken anything.  I just had road rash everywhere and a troublingly deep hole where my left elbow used to be.

Anyway, I was in no position to go to a hospital yesterday.  I was on my way to Denver where my friend who was going to give me a ride back to Fort Collins’s band was playing.  Then I had to go to sleep and go to work the next morning.  So by the time I could have gone to the hospital it had been almost 24 hours.  By then the hole in my elbow had stretched out (eroded?) to a much shallower, wider depression.

What would they even stitch together, at this point?

Well, bikefags, if you ride enough, you’re gonna crash (especially if you don’t know your etiquitte).  And if you’re young and went to school for an ecxiting degree in the liberal arts, you probably don’t have health insurance either.

My plan is to wait until my malformed elbow heals up enough to ride again and then keep riding until the next time I fuck myself up in a crash and worry about it then.

So this is why I haven’t gotten around to posting the kinds of research-oriented bicycle gaiety that you’ve all come to expect.  But it’s cool.  I’ll be back in business in no time.

Until then, here’s a picture of me naked:

Photo 43

"Photo Booth" doesn't do my road rash justice.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Brecher permalink
    July 26, 2009 10:00 am

    yeah, the crashes… last time i crashed i was on my mountainbike and broke my collarbone. again. anyway: nice blog. get well! 😉

  2. tehdely permalink
    July 26, 2009 5:52 pm

    Dag. Might want to take a brillo pad to that. Yes, I’m serious. Yes, you will want to die. But you will heal without a scar.

    I suggest doing it a few times over a few days. Probably want to put some betadyne on first and some antibiotic soap on the pad. Scrub hard!

    Nice ass, btw.

  3. July 27, 2009 6:33 am

    Too bad, but you seem to be back to functioning mode. Also, great sun tan!

  4. Pop Richmond permalink
    July 27, 2009 4:36 pm

    I had a similar crash on the 17th. Some potholes showed up around a blind corner, I changed my line to go around them and went down hard on my right shoulder. Right now I’m enjoying the bureaucratic maze of health care and waiting to get x-rays. Hope you’re all right!

  5. Michael permalink
    July 27, 2009 8:32 pm

    Ugly! I did not need to see this. I was riding beside a fellow cyclist last week who for some unknown reason lost his balance and got his front wheel stuck between the edge of the pavement and the guard rail. Because I was slightly ahead of him, I did not see him hit…I heard the crash and then heard him moaning on the pavement. We called 911 and he was taken to the hospital. I rode to the hospital and learned that he lost memory and broke 4 ribs. He kept asking me what happened.

  6. bystander permalink
    July 27, 2009 8:41 pm

    Ouch! Yep. That spot on the elbow could leave a scar. Might as well wear it with pride.

    The last tumble I took like that I had the bike on the rack and in the shop within an hour. Dripped blood on the shop floor, and asked the only question that mattered to me. Is my bike okay?

    Priorities, man. Priorities.

    Heal soon!

  7. Itripped permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:02 am

    I landed hard on the same elbow a couple of months ago. Didn’t break skin like you but did break the bone – and then was mis-diagnosed. So now I have an arm that won’t extend all the way as I wait for the sports med guys to sceduled me in. At least we can still ride, ‘eh?

  8. Johnny Sprocket permalink
    August 4, 2009 2:12 am

    Nasty crash dude. Though there’s no etiquette signals for, ‘about to take a nose dive’.? And.. what’s that poking up past the top of your towel?

  9. Beefy McManstick permalink
    August 5, 2009 8:13 pm

    Our healthcare system works just fine!

  10. Pink Robe permalink
    August 7, 2009 5:17 pm

    I’ve done the same thing a few times. Scars on scars on scars… The skin grows back, and if it doesn’t, you’ve got a handy divot to stick your gum in during dinner. You didn’t need stitches – there wasn’t anything to stitch! It’s probably mostly healed by now, but the Brillo pad was a good idea. Don’t forget, if you pick it, it won’t heal…

  11. Nick Stuart permalink
    October 24, 2009 5:39 pm

    24 hours is too long to wait for stitches, gotta do it in the first couple hourse. So you didn’t miss anything.

Trackbacks

  1. Why Do Cyclists Shave Their Legs? « Bikefag’s Blog

Leave a Reply

