Skip to content

BREAKING NEWS: Bikesnob NYC Reveals Himself!

March 30, 2010

Eben Weiss, everybody!

(here’s the url.  No link, as I’m trying not to get sued by WSJ)

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052702304370304575152160672087120.html?mod=WSJ_hp_editorsPicks

While I was always sort of hoping that Bikesnob NYC would “come out” on my blog (instead of the Wall Street Journal), this news is nonetheless very exciting.

I’ve been googling “bikesnob identity” and “who is bikesnob” since WAY before those search phrases “blew up.”

But now that the mystery is finally solved, I feel a tinge of loss.

Like anyone in the bike blog “scene,” my reaction to change is fear and panic.

Worries such as:

“Will this be the end of Bikesnob NYC?”

“Can I trust an internet personality who exists in ‘real life’?”

“Is this a hoax?”

“Do I have to have a background in publishing to make it as a blogger?”

“Will it also be revealed that I have been ripping off Bikesnob NYC this whole time?”

“Is the Wall Street Journal going to sue me for using their photo?”

After the feelings of loss and fear, though, I quickly move on to an exploitation motive:

“Will Bikesnob’s unmasking benefit me somehow?”

“Am I the heir to bikesnob’s throne?”

“Am I the first blog to repost this?”

“I could probably smoke that dude in a race.  Maybe we could do a celebrity blogger race some day.”

This is a big day in the bicycle blogosphere.  We’ll see what Bikesnob has to say for himself tomorrow morning.

Hello, Eben Weiss.  Thanks for all the “snobisms.”  Thanks for the “Pistadex.”  Thanks for skewering them all.  I don’t know how you do it.  And I hope you get filthy fucking rich for this.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. bikefag permalink*
    March 30, 2010 12:59 am

    Also, check out comment #4 on this
    http://www.streetsblog.org/2009/03/19/schluffing-or-dorklocross/

  2. Malcolm permalink
    March 30, 2010 9:05 am

    “I could probably smoke that dude in a race.”

    nice

  3. Jefe permalink
    March 30, 2010 6:18 pm

    Now you will have to reveal your true identity…Fabian.

  4. March 31, 2010 9:47 am

    When I saw that BSNYC was “revealed” in the Wall Street Journal, I was sorely disappointed that there was an actual photo. I was really really hoping for a stipple portrait “hedcut”– preferably one of the face-obscured-behind-the-lamppost photo.

  5. Graham permalink
    March 31, 2010 10:42 am

    I think that it’s priceless that the Snob has been trying to tell people his name for a while now, but it finally took an interview with the WSJ for people to believe him.

    And they say traditional media is dead!

    I promise not to tell Mr. Weiss if I ever meet him that you’ve been ripping off his blog. Your secret is safe!

  6. Johnny Sprocket permalink
    March 31, 2010 7:16 pm

    April Fool maybe… he only started building that up recently… very clever!

  7. Peter Cook permalink
    March 31, 2010 8:14 pm

    Now BSNYC really is just some guy.

    Being made fun of by just some guy isn’t as harsh as some snarky blogger.

    Don’t think it’ll change anything. Besides, dude already jumped the shark back in ’08, remember. http://img384.imageshack.us/i/sharkjumpxm5.jpg/

  8. April 1, 2010 11:45 am

    I think you need to start positioning yourself as heir apparent. You are the only one I have found who could possibly do his job. Can you still be cool if you have a column in Bicycling and make tons of money off of a book? Not sure. Get ready, BikeFag…

    (p.s. your secret identity/location is safe with me … until someone comes along with the right price.)

Leave a Reply

