Skip to content

One Year Blogiversary!

April 28, 2010

Wow, it’s been a year today since my very first post, The Bikefag: Saving Cycling or Ruining It? The post was originally titled “Confessions of a Bike Fag” and I sort of wish I’d have kept the original title. Also, I was considering titling this blog “Bike Fag!” with an exclamation point (like it was yelling at you out of a car window, sort of) and I also kinda wish I’d have stuck with that name.

I decided I was better off “yelling out of a car window” at myself though, and one year later I’m still cranking out the self-deprecation every 10.73 days.

I started the blog upon returning to Colorado after “living” in Brooklyn, and traveling to Paris.  I was staying at my dad’s house in Boulder, unemployed, broke, lonely, mountain-bike-less, out of shape, riding canyons on Der Eisentraut every day to get my form back.  I truly felt like I was “stuck between the Rocky Mountains and the city” a year ago, hanging out in Boulder by myself.  And, since I ended up just moving from Boulder back into my old house in my Undisclosable Northern Colorado Front Range College Town, I’m still “stuck.”

So what do I do about it?

The same thing I said a year ago: “Write a blog, I guess…”

Writing Bike Fag has been pretty fun.  I spent a couple months trying to figure out what the next fixed gear would be.

I had some dudes in matching women’s underwear shave my legs.

I rode up a really big hill on my Purple Bike.

I joined a diesel truck enthusiast forum and failed at making the diesel truck enthusiasts look stupid.  I introduced the terms “eaterval,” “racist,” “deep V,” “sustainabilibro,”  “CPD,” and “Hipster road biking,” to the blogosphere (most of which were made up at my house – possibly by my roommates).  And I met a bunch of cool people on the internet all over the place (and still have yet to actually ride with any of them).

Sometimes I wonder why the hell I do it.  I’m a terribly slow writer, so even the inconsistent posts that I do manage to write take up a lot of my time.  No one has given me any free stuff to test yet (I’d happily offer my unique perspective on your gear if you’re interested, though).  And I don’t get paid, or really compensated in any way other than self-satisfaction.

But, looking back over the last year of posts, I remember that this shit is really fun.  I’ve done some things that I never would have had it not been “for the blog.”  And I’d like to think that I’ve done my tiny part to take the wind out of the sails of some of the more useless, fashionable phenomena that occur in different cycling cliques (while always trying to fess up to the useless, fashionable phenomena that I myself adhere to).

Like local frame builder and regular at my coffee shop Meetsauce said the other day, “you just like to hear the sound of your own voice.”  And he’s right.  But I really have no idea what might come out of writing this blog.  And I’m not exactly breaking my back getting something posted every 10.73 days. So as long as people keep reading (did you know the internet can see how many people come here every day?!), I will keep writing.

Thanks for reading, dawgs.  Keep the comments and the emails coming!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 11:35 pm

    Yes please! I’m always happy to see a new post from you.

    • bikefag permalink*
      April 28, 2010 11:41 pm

      thanks, Alicia. Fine, I’ll keep writing the blog…

  2. Matthew permalink
    April 29, 2010 1:40 am

    Keep up the good work Bikefag. For apple pie!

  3. knarg permalink
    April 29, 2010 6:22 am

    happy blogiversary broham

  4. Helen permalink
    April 29, 2010 12:11 pm

    yo dawg. happy blogiversary. thanks for taking out the trash.

  5. Teresa permalink
    April 29, 2010 1:01 pm

    Happy blawgiversary! Don’t worry about your infrequent posts; I’m sure Bike Snob’s impressive blogging stamina is a result of doping. Congrats for writing “clean”.

  6. April 29, 2010 1:34 pm

    I like this do not stop. Ever.

  7. Chris permalink
    May 1, 2010 4:50 pm

    Presumably a Wednesday would yield the best test results from Snobbie ?
    And , thanks , keep up the writing , I’ve enjoyed it all .

  8. njs panasonic permalink
    May 4, 2010 4:50 pm

    beat c-murder on the comment !! hopefully coming in before him will continue once I have moved up to the big boys (4s) Thanks for the inspiration bike fag. heard in the peloton this sunday “… so are you guys on the old-skool bikes like buddies or what?”

  9. burnsadam permalink
    May 5, 2010 12:26 pm

    hipster roadbiking!!

  10. c-murder permalink
    May 6, 2010 12:22 pm

    Keep up the good work, FAG!

    You guys on the old-skool bikes are totally buddies. Now we just need to get Adam in the “Flying A”.

  11. Maki permalink
    May 6, 2010 6:40 pm

    Thanks for the blog! You’ve got some hipster road biking acolytes in San Diego.

  12. forealz permalink
    May 13, 2010 5:03 pm

    Of course you have to keep writing. Who’s going else is going to smoke rich, carbon-riding cyclists on vintage steel? Colnago, bitches!

  13. May 17, 2010 4:08 pm

    Happy Blogiversary! I love this blog!

  14. Denise Hegert permalink
    May 18, 2010 7:56 pm

    Congrats on one year! You’re a great writer (whether it’s cycling or sewers) always entertaining.

    • bikefag permalink*
      May 18, 2010 10:28 pm

      aw, thanks Mrs. Hegert!

Leave a Reply

