Skip to content

The Bikefag’s Guide to Ironic Cycling Fashion

June 9, 2010

Readers, as you’ve noticed, my posts so far in “year two” of the Bikefag have been pretty infrequent.  To be honest, I’ve been spending a little too much time actually riding bikes, and not enough time looking at bike-related content on the internet.

And for that I apologize and vow that once I burn out on “training” later on this season, I’ll return to posting once every 10.73 days.

But just because I’m not updating my blog regularly, doesn’t mean that I’m not still looking at the internet quite a bit.  In fact, hardly a night goes by that I don’t bring my laptop to bed and stay up until 3am, combing ebay for:

Ironic Cycling Fashions!

If you can’t beat ’em, make a mockery of them, I say.  And If you can beat ’em, you might as well also make a mockery of them.

The bikefag must stand out in a peloton.

Luckily for the bikefag, “the peloton” makes it easy for one to stand out.

Since this is such a HUGE SUBJECT in my life, I can’t possibly cover it in this single post, so I’m going to break it up into several posts this month.

Expect, at the very least, separate posts on:

Why Wear Ironic Cycling Fashion?

What to Wear?

The Pro's Closet Polo Team. Photo stolen from Mountain Flyer

One can only speculate about the size of the Coors Light Ironic Cycling clothing lode.  Ebay only offers a tiny glimpse.  Speaking of ebay:

The Bikefag’s Guide to Ironic Ebay.com Shopping

I swear to Bike God, if you buy this out from under me I'll FUCKING KILL YOU!

Who Knows?

Who knows, maybe I’ll need to write even more posts about this subject so near to my heart.

Expect the first post in 10.73 days or less!

*Bonus Post: The Future of Ironic Cycling Fashion?

Stolen from Helen

Today’s top-performance outerwear will undoubtedly become the ironic costume of tomorrow’s top ironic sportswear enthusiasts.  Take a look into the Bikefag’s Ironic Crystal Ball to find out which clothes to hoard for 2025!

**Ultra bonus: check out my 400 Smith Racing teammate Helen‘s post about the top 2010 cycling fashions available from Colorado Cyclist! (see above photo)

The end.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Matthew permalink
    June 9, 2010 1:01 pm

    Irony is all very well, but the helmet in the second pic looks boiling. Need moar vents!

    • bikefag permalink*
      June 9, 2010 1:16 pm

      Matthew, you’ve got a great point, and I think that you’re a step ahead of me on my “future of ironic cycling” post. Surely, one of the most hilarious-seeming phenomena, retrospectively, will be the “more vents” thing. I’ll bet you anything that with the Catlike helmets, we’ve maxed out on vents. Once we return to ten-15 vents or so, these Catlike helmets will be, to the ironic cyclist or 2025, what these Mario Cipollini Brikos are to the ironic cyclist of today:

  2. June 9, 2010 2:17 pm

    Thanks for the shout-out, dawg. Can’t wait to learn from the master.

  3. Gregg permalink
    June 9, 2010 5:54 pm

    is that Davis Phinney on the far right?

  4. Ter-Ter permalink
    June 9, 2010 11:34 pm

    You should get Aspen Xtreme to do a serious sponserval with this series of posts. That or at least give you first cyclewear dibs, D.I.B.

  5. Malcolm permalink
    June 10, 2010 2:00 pm

    Bikefag, you shouldn’t have posted the skin suit, prepare for a bidding war, I am going to snipe that shit from you, sucka.

    Cheers, and great post!

  6. Malcolm permalink
    June 21, 2010 10:49 am

    Damn, missed the auction, next time.

    You have competition on the international fashion scene:

    http://leprincebicycles.blogspot.com/

Trackbacks

  1. Bike Tour 2 « Bikefag's Blog
  2. Fuck It! I’m Moving to Portland. « Bikefag's Blog

Leave a Reply

