Skip to content

Non-Ironic Cycling?

September 13, 2010

This blog is losing momentum, reader, and I think I know why.

Bike Fag has always been dedicated to the “space between” the world of the “hipster” “cyclist” and the “serious” cyclist.

But the thing is, doggs: I may not inhabit that space anymore.  I think I’ve become a:

Non-Ironic Cyclist

I’m no longer an “alternative cyclist,” doggs.

Here are my last five rides:

-2 hour non-alternative mtb ride

-2.5 hour Gravel road ride on cyclocross bike

-1 hour Cyclocross training ride in park

-nine-day bike tour

-4 hours non-hipster road biking

Apart from the Coors Light bib shorts and the dated eyewear, all of these experiences were 100% straightforward.  None of these acts was intended to be mocking, “meta,” “non-traditional,” or in contrast to the “main stream.”  Mostly, I was just riding for enjoyment and exercise (while, admittedly, wearing ironic clothing).

Am I a “Square?”

Maybe so, reader, but at least I’m in good company.

Many of the greatest cyclists in history were non-ironic cyclists.

Eddy Merckx, for example;

bona fide

Fausto Coppi

The real deal

Levi Leipheimer

No sense of irony whatsoever

Ned Overend

Tinker Juarez was cooler

I’m not sure what the future holds for the Bike Fag, reader.

Perhaps I’ll just start posting race reports and detailed profiles of my diet and wattage.  Maybe I’ll just write about non-ironic subjects like bicycle advocacy or product testing.  Maybe I’ll quit.

More likely, I’ll forget this ever happened and keep posting infrequently about the usual subjects.

Stay tuned!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Will Hickey permalink
    September 13, 2010 11:38 am

    I have long believed that Merckx actually won all those races in an effort to show Luis Ocaña how faggy cycling really is.

  2. victor c permalink
    September 13, 2010 7:38 pm

    hey man – who cares what your posting about, just post and the readers will continue to read!!! Keep up the good work and post more!! We’re all just looking for a funny read

  3. September 13, 2010 8:45 pm

    Sadly, my only ironic cycling equipment these days is a pair of anti-freeze green Oakley frogskins or my factory pilots (which I’m too scared to wear at cross races now).

    That being said, I still show up to races with a sweet fixie SÄG bag with a bunch of water bottles on it, and love riding my brakeless SWEET FIXIE to get Chipotle burritos.

  4. Jefe permalink
    September 14, 2010 11:38 am

    Please, more irony.

  5. Spatch permalink
    September 17, 2010 12:50 pm

    Perhaps a visit to mainland Europe beckons ? They really , really don’t do irony there , other than the Belgians I saw at Mt.Ventoux doing fake victory salutes at the summit.

  6. Ray permalink
    September 17, 2010 6:44 pm

    Fine. Do what you must.

    At least you must have some entertaining stories from the road, from races, or about the ironic cyclists you come across. Or maybe more pictures of cheap eBay-sourced kit.

  7. xyxax permalink
    September 18, 2010 1:19 pm

    what could be more ironic than carbon bidon cages?
    I hope you find it and write it.

  8. September 22, 2010 1:35 pm

    what’s more ironic than discussing a lack of irony in your ironic blog??

    • bikefag permalink*
      September 22, 2010 2:02 pm

      finally, someone UNDERSTANDS me!

Trackbacks

  1. Bikefag “Serious” Cyclocross Season 2010 « Bikefag's Blog

Leave a Reply

