Skip to content

Bilenky Junkyard Cyclocross Race and the Ultimate Cyclocross Hipster

December 20, 2010

This race is certainly blggble on its own.  But the reason I felt compelled to post it is because it appears that the winner of the “A” race was none other than The Ultimate Cyclocross Hipster – Dan Chabanov!

I realize that some will disagree with my designation of Chabanov as Ultimate Cyclocross Hipster.  I personally welcome the dialogue.  But let me present my case:

Featured on Prolly isn’t Probably

In that Empire bike messenger movie

Theoretically still a bike Messenger in NYC (he certainly was when I was there…)

13th in the biggest series on the East Coast.

It is my goal to one day line up at a hipster all-star cyclocross race with Chabanov, Eben Weiss (BSNYC), Adam Myerson, Rainier Schaefer from Mash SF, Barry Wicks in his golden speedo, and every member of Team Pegasus and Team Geekhouse – and win!  Then I will be Ultimate Cyclocross Hipster!

I’m pretty sure Chabanov is probably a shitload faster than me, but I’m doing notably better in points than he was in his first season, so that gives me hope that I’ll be able to best him at nationals within the next two years.

Problem is, I live in an Unidentifiable Northern Colorado State College Town, so I ain’t getting a Prolly is not Probably shout-out any time soon…

But a blogger can dream.

(Dan, if you’re reading this, uhhh… take it as flattery?)

UPDATE:

Well, it looks like I’m getting a shit-ton of hits from NYC’s secret fixed-gear forum.  I can only imagine what they’re saying.  Oh well, I asked for it..

The UCH controversy aside, check out this helmet-cam of the Bilenky Junkyard Cross course.  Looks pretty awesome:

Double Update:

Phew!  Chabanov is cool with it.  Read all about it here:

Bonedeth

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 6:53 pm

    scarfs in a bike race? for real? even for a hipster i think that’s a little much.

  2. December 21, 2010 7:01 pm

    Unitl Kurt Cobain…(Pause) killed himself.

  3. mattio permalink
    December 22, 2010 8:57 am

    nyc fixed gear people – not the assholes you thought they were.

    😉

Trackbacks

  1. Holla! « Team Pegasus

Leave a Reply

